Zealous Much?

ZEAL- noun;  eager desire or endeavor; enthusiastic diligence. 

I don’t know about you but the word zeal doesn’t pop into my everyday conversations. But while reading Isaiah 9 tonight I came across the end of verse 7 that says, “The zeal of the Lord of Hosts will accomplish this.” The what that He is accomplishing is the dominion over the throne of David. 

In the definition of the word zealous we see the description of being enthusiastically diligent. Being someone that loves the art of words this is beautifully put- this is not a person who is diligent because of what they may achieve as the outcome it is someone who is passionate; enthusiastic…whole heartedly believing in the cause.

There have not been many times in my life where I dropped everything I had going on in order to pursue something with all my talent and understanding. The reason for this being that I am a selfish human being- my energy goes into making my life happier and easier. 

When God calls you to be zealous for Him and for His plan in your life He is also calling you to step outside your comfort zone. He is asking you to stop pursuing your own desires in order to run after Him with all your might. 

I looked up synonyms for zeal in order to have a better understanding of the word. Zeal is synonymous with intensity, devotion, drive, fierceness, readiness and eagerness. None of these words makes you think of sitting on the front porch sipping on some lemonade. These words paint the picture of a warrior constantly preparing for battle, advancing in order to achieve the ultimate goal. 

Isaiah 9:7 tells us that God is a zealous God- He is pursuing us so fiercely that you can feel Him wrapping His arms around you in the wind. You can feel Him covering you as the rain pours down on you. You feel His pursuit through His warmth as the sun shines down on your face. He is everywhere around you showing you that He desires you.

As a believer I am called to live a Christ centered life- I am called to be like my Savior, and though I fail over and over again I must continue to seek after Him and His plan for me each day.

Harriet Beecher Stowe talked about such a zealous lifestyle when she said, “When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn.” 

Move forward with intensity- especially in the moments you feel the weakness. Great things where not accomplished because they were easy. They were accomplished because great things are worth fighting for. 

Goodnight for now, 

AJ 

One thought on “Zealous Much?

  1. Pingback: Over-Zealous | CognitiveFaith

Leave a Reply

